php oo refrence class member

class Foo{
   private &$member;
   function __construct(&$member){ $this->member = &$member; }
   function doSmtg(){//changes member }
   function doSmtgElse(){//changes member }
}
$myMember = "";
foo = new Foo($myMember);
foo->doSmtg();
echo $myMember;

I am still pretty nez to php, so please bare with me…

I would like to pass $mymember to the constructor of Foo as a ref, so that the changes to it will directly be changed on the $myMember variable aswell.

My code is currently wrong, i get error about unexpected ‘&’ at private &$member;
So i guess something is wrong with my syntax on refrence usage ?

I tried to follow: http://php.net/manual/en/language.references.pass.php

Leave a Reply

