Reading PDF, TJ operator strange encoding

I’m currently trying to extract text from a PDF document, but I encountered some strange cases with Tj operator. Normally I dealt with cases like these:

   Tc (SOME_TEXT) TJ

Now encouter a case like this:

   Tm  [
        ( )1.828
        (5)1.841
        (2)1.828
        (2)1.828
        (4)1.841
        (9)1.828
        (.)1.828
        (6)1.841
        (4)
       ]
   TJ 

Which converts to string ‘52249.64’. Now encoutered yet another strange case:

Only info I could find is this: A string passed to Tj is always to be interpreted according to the Encoding or CMap for the font. (In this case I expect it is a CIDFont with a CMap)

Td  (
        \t\004\007\020\007\016\016\026\020
    )
Tj 

I still don’t understand. Are these some kind of indexes that indicate an offset in some kind of character array or do I have to decode these values? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

